Every gamer needs a "go to game." A game that they play constantly with other games only filling in the empty extra spaces. For the longest time my "go to game" was Day of Defeat Source, but when Team Fortress 2 came around, the server and community of players with whom I had become very close, slowly fell apart. Now we get a server going once a month or so and play all night reminiscing about the good old days like a WWII company reunion.
Recently my "go to game" has been League of Legends, and by recently I mean the last 2 years. I have sunk thousands of hours of my life battling lane dominance and ganking unsuspecting champions.
After a certain amount of hours with any game, when I feel that I have finished everything the developers had in store for me, but I have not yet satiated my hunger for more, I do what any reasonable individual would do, try to break the game. Like a child pulling a branch on a tree to see just how much force it takes to snap it clean off, I like testing the world of the games I play. Admit it: you created another save in Fallout 3 so you could kill every living soul in Megaton. It's okay, I am not here to judge. We all want to test the limits of our games and after more than a thousand hours with League of Legends that is exactly what I decided to do.
My goal: Level an account to 30 so I can compete in ranked games and then lose or leave said ranked games until my ELO (the rating system used by League of Legends) goes from the starting point of 1200 all the way to 0. Then I will see if I can pull myself back up to 1200.
The Descent:
In total I played 388 games. I won 193, lost 161 and left 34 of them. The fastest way down the ELO ladder would have been to queue up for a match and leave while the players chose their champions, but in addition to taking a loss for leaving the lobby, I would also get an administrative time out. The time outs were small at first, but after 20 or so leaves Riot asked me to take 24 hours and think about my actions; I was grounded.
My ELO sat at about 950 and the hard part was about to begin. I could no longer just leave games, so I sat idly by as the other team, with their +1 champion advantage laid waste to my teammates. Of course to the unskilled eye I was playing the game. I would be in a lane, killing minions and gently poking at my opponent, but when it came time to really fight I was nowhere to be found. I would hide in the tall grass of the jungle or kill some minions on the other side of the map. I managed to get to about 700 ELO with this strategy. My teammates could just not carry my dead weight play.
Now, I did win a few games on the way down, about 30 games in total. So what could be done if my team was going to inevitably win? I would stay in the game just long enough to make sure that the opposing team wasn't going to come back and win and then I would quickly ex
it the game hoping that it would count me as a "leaver" and therefore a loss for me, even though my team was victorious. I was forced to do this about 10 times, but because I was on a disciplinary level for leaving so many games previously, I was forced to win from time to time. The irony of the frustration I felt when the screen flashed victory is not lost on me.
Soon, it became clear that missing a player was not enough of a hindrance to my team to induce a loss, so I was forced to take more drastic action. I never played harder than when I was trying to lose. My champion had to look like he was trying, but failing. I would follow an enemy champion just a little too far into turret range and allow said enemy to pickup first blood against me. I would attack an enemy knowing that in the end he would be left with a sliver of health, but I would be left to respawn after the death timer counted down. The beginning of each game was an assessment of which enemy champion to focus. Which one had the skill to carry a team to victory... that is the one that would be the recipient of my lust for death.
The longest leg of the journey was definitely from 700 down to 300. It was also that range in which I heard the most racial epithets. The lower ELO I managed, the more I would hear the words, "noob, fail, f**k (and all its variants), n***er, and so on.
Low ELO is the ELO of hyprocrites. Players were so angry because they felt dragged into low ranking from which they could never return, which they refer to as "ELO hell." Many p
layers felt that their losses were completely out of their control and that it was always their teammates fault. Even as they stood with several times the amount of deaths as kills, they could only see that those deaths were a result of a previous death of another champion. Part of the reason I did this whole experiment is because I was bored, yes, but also because I wanted prove that with skill, a champion could crawl even out of the lowest ELO, simultaneously busting the myth of an ELO hell. I was more and more skeptical of ELO hell the deeper I dug because one thing that players at all levels have in common is their belief that they are stuck in ELO hell.

So where is ELO hell? Is it 200, 700, 1200, or even 1800? I contend that the system works and that ELO hell, or where a player's ELO stagnates is where they are playing games with other people of similar skill and therefore do not win anymore games than they lose.
A funny thing happened when I finally arrived at 300 ELO... complete and total apathy. Gone were the capslocked messages of anger and obscenity. Gone was the incessant map pinging of higher ELOs; no, these people were just playing to have fun, not really caring whether they won or lost. It was even harder to lose in this rank because many matches ended up being 4v3 or 3v2 because people would just leave and no one would care. I made a lot of friends in this bracket because I could talk openly about my intentions and question people about theirs. I did find one other person who had the same plan as myself, but in the end, he could not crawl back to his starting point. Most players on the other hand, just accepted that they were not as skilled as most players and enjoyed the friendly competition at the dregs of ELO.
The pool of players at and around 300 ELO is pretty thin, so I played my last descending 20-30 games with the same 20 people. I am sure they are all still there, trading wins and losses and having a great time, not worrying about who wins or how low their ELO falls.
I eventually got down to zero, actually I went negative. My stats still showed zero, but I had to win a couple of games before I saw that first single digit number pop up under my rank.


I only played two champions on my way
back up. I played Master Yi, chasing and ripping apart my enemies all the way to about 1,000 ELO, rarely losing a game. At at about 1,000 I switched to Sona. It took me about the same amount of time to get from 1000-1206 as it did to get from 0-10000 Matches lasted longer and I could no longer carry a team if one of my teammates left or was playing without a head on their shoulders. Who knows; maybe I met some people with my same plan on their way down to the dregs as I was trying to redeem my original rank. I met some people on my way up that I had seen on my way down that were, to say the least, astonished at my miraculous increase of skill.
As a rule, I accepted every invitation for friendship and played with those new friends as much as possible (probably trying to atone for my sins of making them lose all those games.) Some of my harshest critics on my way down (people that groaned or left the queue when they saw me) became the best of friends on my way back up. They would constantly ask to accompany me in games to assure victory. (I know that sounds pompous, but at 500 ELO, queueing with me was a guaranteed win.)
It took me about 2 months, playing at least 2 games a day to do it, but I did it. My friends I played with on my other account had all but abandoned me because I no longer played like I used to. Play styles vary wildly in different ranks and after hundreds of games below the 1200 line I was absolutely terrible. I could no longer remember how people played at my native ELO and could not adapt fast enough, which led to an unfortunate amount of legitimate losses.
In closing, no... there is no such thing as ELO hell, but there is such a thing as not having the skills to adapt to play at a certain level. The game will find your correct ELO, but you aren't condemned there. Adapt and move on, or go hang out with the coolest people in the game down there in club 300.